DJ Earworm Releases His Annual Year-End Mashup ‘United State of Pop 2014 (Do What You Wanna Do)’ [VIDEO]

Each year since 2007, DJ Earworm (aka Jordan Roseman) takes the calendar year’s top 25 pop songs and creates an epic mashup to ring in the New Year. The title of his annual mashups follow a pattern. Each is called “United State of Pop,” plus the year, and, in parathesis, a lyric from one of the 25 songs included in the compilation. The 2014 lyric, “Do What You Wanna Do,” comes from “Animals” by Maroon 5.

Other artists and songs featured in this year’s mashup are “All of Me” by John Legend, “Dark Horse” by Katy Perry, Frozen’s “Let It Go,” “Stay With Me” by Sam Smith, “Shake It Off” by Taylor Swift, and “Fancy” by Iggy Azalea and Charli XCX.

In past years, the sources for the instrumentals in the mashup songs have been pretty clear. This year, however, the instrumentals are more blended than ever. The other big change has to do with the decline of electronic dance music. Discussing his genius musical creations, DJ Earworm tells Billboard:

The ‘United State of Pop’ became this dance track from ’09 to ’12, and then starting last year, there just wasn’t enough in that genre to fully support it, so I went down-tempo. And this year…[it’s] definitely down-tempo, so you have to decide, how is this going to go? How am I going to maintain the energy levels while being true to the sound of the year?

Crop & Save